Home Screen: Session Configuration Tab

TfsToTfs1.jpg
This screen is the home screen for the applcation and shows all of the "Sessions" that are stored in the configuration file.
  • New: Create a new Migration session (VC or WIT).
  • Delete: Delete one of the existing migration sessions.
  • Start One Time: Start the selected migration session once, and exit once it is complete.
  • Start Mirror: Start a migration session, and continually run it until the stop button is clicked on next tab (or until a migration error occurs that prevents the sesion from proceeding).
  • Direction
    • One-Way: Only perform the migration source to destination (this is the only supported option for now for VC migrations).
    • Both Ways: Migrate everything from source to destination, and then from destination to source. This option can only be used for WIT migrations. If you need to migrate VC both ways, then create two sessions, one from Destination to Source, and one for Source to Destination.

Home Screen: Migration Activity Tab

TfsToTfs2.jpg

This screen shows the status of running sessions.
  • Include Completed Sessions: When unchecked, only currently active sessions will be shown.
  • Refresh: Refreshes the data on the screen.
  • Stop Session: Stops the selected session.

Add/Edit Migration Session Screen: Version Control

TfsToTfs3.jpg

This screen allows you to configure a new VC session to be stored in the configuration file.
  • Source Team Project: Enter the server, connect to it, and then pick the source Team Project from the list.
  • Destination Team Project: Enter the server, connect to it, and then pick the destination Team Project from the list.
  • Add: Brings up the VC folder selection dialogue to that you can pick a source and destination folder.
  • Remove: Allows you to remove a folder from the configuration file.
  • Save: Saves your changes.
  • Cancel: Closes without saving your changes.

Folder Selection Dialogue

TfsToTfs4.jpg

Allows you to pick a source and destination folder to be migrated.
  • Source Folder: All of the contents of this folder will be migrated.
  • Destination Folder: All of the contents within Source Folder will be placed in this folder.
  • Exclude (Cloak): This folder will be excluded from the migration. This is useful if you have a large tree that you want to migrate, but want to exlude just one folder from the migration. For example, if you want to migrate the entire tree $/MyTeamProject/ but want to leave out $/MyTeamProject/Apps/App53, then you would exclude the App53 folder.
  • OK: Saves the changes and closes the dialogue.
  • Cancel: Closes the dialogue without saving changes.
  • Add/Edit Migration Session: Work Items

AddNewWITSession.jpg

This screen allows you to create a new "Session" for migrating work items.
  • Source Server: The TFS server containing the work items that will be migrated.
  • Destination Server: The TFS server that the new work items will be migrated to.
  • Source Work Item Filter: The filter that will be used to include or exclude work items in the source Team Project. Note that the UI is incorrect, you must specify a filter or the session cannot be saved.
  • Destination Work Item Filter: The filter for "Both Ways" migrations only. Note that if you have a One-Way migration, this field is not used. This field is used to pull work items back from the Destination Server to the Source server. For example, you could have a source filter that only included bugs, and a destination filter that only included tasks, this would mean that bugs were always created and authored in the source TFS server and that Tasks were always created in the desintation server.
  • VC Session: This is the Version Control configuration session that will be used for migrating links. The linking engine needs this to obtain the mappings and workspace information to bring over links to changesets.

Last edited Dec 17, 2009 at 4:15 PM by mmitrik, version 5

Comments

No comments yet.