Release Notes

The purpose of this release is to fix many of the issues in the previous release of the tool, and to leverage the Migration and Synchronization Toolkit v1.1 (see Release Notes for details).

TFS to TFS Migration Tool v1.1 (Prerelease)

Prerequisites

  • It is recommended that the latest client and server bits are used wherever possible. Also, the TFC version used should be greater than or equal to the highest TFS version (i.e. for a migration from 2005 SP1 to a 2008 server, use 2008 or 2008 SP1 client).
  • TFS 2005 Service Pack 1 is the minimum version for both the server and the client machines
  • A SQL Server 2005 database must be deployed

Uninstalling the tool

  • When uninstalling the TFS to TFS Migration Tool v1.1, one of the databases created by the Migration Toolkit (tfsmigration) will not be deleted by the uninstall wizard. The database must be removed manually for subsequent installations to work correctly.

Improvements in this Release

  • See the improvements of the Migration and Synchronization Toolkit v1.1
  • "The key is not present in the dictionary" exception is no longer thrown by the tool.
  • Pressing the connect button no longer repopulates the Team Projects in the combo box.
  • Duplicate Team Projects are no longer shown when the source and target are the same server.
  • Timestamps have been added to the session name. This keeps the names unique after subsequent migration runs where the session name is not manually updated.
  • Permissions are validated before migration sessions are started.
  • Work item tracking linking is enabled by default.

Known Issues/Limitations

  • Remote installation is not supported.
  • 64-bit operating systems are not supported by this tool.
  • Credentials must match on both the source and target server.
  • Connecting to the TFS server in the GUI may result in a TF30076 error.
  • Following a failed migration, subsequent migrations may be unsuccessful.
  • The source and target of a migration are named incorrectly - items are actually migrated from the target to the source.
  • Workspaces used by the migration tool are left behind after migrations, even if sessions are deleted.
  • Only folders that currently exist in the target server can be used as targets for migration.

Last edited Dec 17, 2009 at 4:11 PM by mmitrik, version 2

Comments

No comments yet.